Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Simple usb autoguiding hardware

samtheeagle

I've come across the Shoestring autoguiding products, and they look pretty nice, but they also look pretty pricey considering that there doesn't seem much to them. Maybe I'm missing something? Maybe I'm just tight?

Anyway, I'm toying with making my own usb st4 interface. I've found a simple (and cheap) usb to serial interface board, and done some reading up on writing an ASCOM driver for it, and it doesn't seem that bad...

I'm a code monkey by trade, so the driver part I have few concerns over, it's the hardware side that I'll find tricky. But as far as I can make out the main requirement is to support the pulse guide feature to emulate button presses on the hand controller.

Sounds simple doesn't it? :icon_rolleyes: I reckon I can make this for ~30 quid.

Anyone else been loopy enough to try something like this?

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There is a cheaper version out there. I don't know much about it as I'm a techno numpty so I just bought the EQDIR thingy. I know JGS001 has recently done somehting like you are talking about.:icon_rolleyes:

Sam

Hi Sam, I've been toying with an 'Arduino' board recently, I'm looking at the board to do multiple things. So far its being dev'd as am automatic dew heater (take ambient and scope temp, compare, adjust scope temp accordingly). I had also thought about using it as a focuser controller, possibly even something to control webcams via 12c.

Anyhoo, my point is this, the arduino is either usb controllable or if you give it its own power it will run standalone, the only major difference between the 2 sets of code (windows/hardware) is there is a lack of gui on the arduino, apart from that the 2 IDEs are incredibly similar. I have 0 hardware coding experience but I've managed to make this thing work independently of a PC as well as provide it with a windows gui with extra control too.