Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Vignetting issue

Hey

Beginner here. I managed to try out my new rig for the first time last night: Redcat 51, AM5, ASI2600MC Pro and optolong L-extreme. Spent most the evening just trying to get everything working, but I did eventually get some images of M42. I had already taken my darks (30) and biases (100) which I think are ok, but at the end of the session I took my flats using a white laptop screen held up to scope - probably not ideal.

I used the Asiair plus auto setting to take 30 flats. They came out about 10 seconds long, then I tried again at a higher brightness which came out at 2.4 seconds long. When I stack the images I get strong red and green vignetting (see below) whichever flats I use.

When I just stack the lights I don't get this issue so I think it must be my calibration images. I have been able to remove this processing the images, but I'd like to try and sort it out before that. Any ideas would be much appreciated!

Thanks

m42v.jpg

I think with a narrowband filter and OSC something like this is almost to be expected. I do have vignetting to deal with, but also tend to get a red to green gradient across the frame when using a dual narrowband filter which has to be removed using gradient removal techniques (DBE in Pixinsight for me). Maybe you have some vignetting here as part of that too ( I do too).

It is worth trying to get good flats certainly...  never tried the laptop method. I did have some success with tracing panels, but when I got a RASA 11, I invested in an Aurora Panel which works well for me. 

Can you post a sub and a calibrated sub and your master flat? Might help to see if any issues there...

• Like 1

I think a typical laptop screen won't produce good flats because the light intensity and colour of an LCD varies by the angle you view it from, and this becomes much more drastic the closer you get.