Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Heritage 150p Virtuoso GTI- Issue with observing

Hi All,

Merry Christmas to you all!

I am very new to the stargazing and telescope use- a complete beginner. So, there is a high chance this may be a silly/noob question and, if so, I apologise.

I have never used a telescope before but finally took the plunge and bought the Skywatcher Heritage 150p Virtuoso GTI as I understand it is a good one for beginners.

When I set it up, it seemed easy and hardly needed any assembly. However, when I try to observe after putting in the 25mm piece, all I see is a white blurry screen. No visibility of any objects whatsoever, not even a tree or pole in direct line of sight. If I try to wave my hand in the front of the telescope main tube, I see faint shadow of my hand but no clarity. The white view seems to be the same of the main lens colour, as visible from the front end of the main tube.

I have attached photos of my view and the set-up for reference.

I should mention that I bought the telescope brand new from Ryda (Ryda.com.au). I'm not sure if I am missing something or doing something wrong, or the telescope is faulty, but I am hoping to get some guidance please.

Thank you!

20231225_195132.jpg

20231225_194806.jpg

20231225_194834.jpg

20231225_194843.jpg

20231225_194917.jpg

20231225_195056.jpg

20231225_195106.jpg

20231225_195110.jpg

1 minute ago, laudropb said:

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. From your photos it appears that yo have the scope the wrong way round. You view  through the open end.

Thank you, laudropb, for the welcome and help! I am watching through the eyepiece next to the red dot finder. Though I have taken the photos of the front end to show there is nothing covering that end, and also to show the white colour which resembles the view. Any further suggestions please?