NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

question about Rasa 8

I new to astrophotography but I have been using Nikon for ~20 years with numerous cemaras and leans from 14mm to 600mm. I bought lenses from greentoe before and they seems to be ok. But not sure with something like Rasa 8.  I would also need get a mount and a cemera. Would really appreciate it if I can get some advice on these items. 

I love the RASA 8 but it isn't perfect. I'd still refuse to swap it for anything else.

Firstly you need to match a camera to it.  A DSLR is too big to fit in front of the corrector without obscuring it. We use a ZWO ASI 2600MC Pro, which has a fairly large chip. We don't get perfect stars to the edge but can 'fix' them in post processing. A smaller chip would reduce this problem at a cost in terms of field of view.

Our image scale is about 1.8 arcseconds per pixel, which is not very demanding in terms of mount/autoguiding tracking accuracy. You need an RMS of about half that, so 0.9" RMS. When our more upmarket Avalon Linear packed up recently I chucked a very old EQ6 under it and and, quite honestly, there is no loss of quality.

You might also want to check out the issue of tilt...

Olly

Thank you very much for the information! I will check out the camera and mount you mentioned. Will definitely looking into the tilt issue as well. 

Another naive question: I know Rasa is for deep sky, but can it still produce good images for jupiter-like planets? Maybe not enough focus lengh? 

Have you actually paid for it?

I'd be a bit cautious at the moment as last year most retailers stopped selling the 8 inch due to a manufacturing quality concern and stock was returned to Celestron I believe. It doesn't affect all scopes but I'd be dubious of any available on the market at the moment, as good as the scope is.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, Elp said:

Have you actually paid for it?