NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

CPC 1100 Advice/Tips needed!

Hey all! I’m new to all of this, but here we go!

So my grandfather was an astronomer and loved watching the night skies, but unfortunately he passed many years ago. His Telescope (CPC 1100) was handed down to me, along with all the equipment he used. I’m very new to it all, and I’m not quite sure what is what. I’ve taken the telescope out quite a few times to see if I could view anything (which it worked and is incredible) but I’d like to know everything possible about my telescope. Assume that I know pretty much nothing 😂 any and all advice/tips are welcomed and appreciated! I live in Northern Cali. 

Hello! I once had the CPC1100 for a short period before I realized it is more scope than I needed considering it’s size and weight. This scope is a great, 11 inches of aperture (size of mirror) and a long focal length (distance the light travels within the telescope before it is focused at your eye). It has GPS which allows you to find and track objects, has many options for accessories like cameras and such and from my little experience with it I was happy with the optical quality. Have you heard of a gentleman on youtube by the name of Ed Ting? Ed is a very well know. Amateur astronomer and reviewer of telescopes, I recommend you have a look at this video where he basically sums up the CPC1100 in detail.

• Like 2

If you don't have the user manual for the CPC, you can download it.