NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

getting lost?

Ok maybe this is just me & my inexperience (especially using a proper telescope) but here goes;

When looking at the sky with just my eyes or with my 10x50 binos I can pick out constellations (well about 4/5, enough to get my bearings) with relative ease, they are easy to see and find.

When I use my finderscope & look up into the same area of sky I can again see the constellation & where I want to be but when I look into my scope I can see so many stars that I cant see with my eyes/binos/finder that I get lost so easy & cant find my way around.

Its annoying as I cant identify what I'm looking at. This is with my OmniXLT150 with a 25mm EP (the one that comes with it)

I do have a planisphere & I take my EEE out with stellarium on it with me usually.

Any clues/advice etc on how not to get lost when looking through my scope?

Im quite new to this too but what you see through your EP is a very small field of view,you will not see any constellations through it. The image is also upside down(well it is in my scope).

Keep at it,it will get easier

Hi Kit, I know it is the same old story, but it is just a case of learn, learn and learn. If you have a look on your star programme you will notice that they normally list the biggest or the brightest, they are normally named in the greek alphabet, i.e (a) alpha (:) beta and so on.

The trick is to make sure your viewfinder and your scope are totally at one with each other, so what you point the finder scope at is the same star in the eyepiece. Its practise makes perfect to be honest.

Have you asked this previously in the last couple of days?

Sure I have read an identical question, and it was answered.

From what you have said I would guess that you are pointing the scope at a constellation then expecting to see the constellation. I again presume that the finder and scope are aligned.