Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M31 Andromeda - The wonders of processing

Rossco72

Off the bat, nothing new here. This is just a journey for me on the Pixinsight / Photoshop processing journey.

This is all the same data, just processed at different skill levels and software.

My first process of my Andromeda data was in Photoshop, stacked images from ZWO ASIStudio and aligned in photoshop. I'm not an expert in PS by any means, and I was actually pretty happy with this at the time.

M31-LRGB.thumb.png.2d7b39c1280480f42d464a880f191d9d.png

After lots of cloudy nights and no new data to keep me interested, I started watching tutorials on Pixinsight and finally took the plunge! This now shows the same subs (well almost as PI rejected a few through the sub-frame selector) bt fully processed in PI with no photoshop at all!

M31_2022.thumb.png.bb0f4c66c51906720c16cd2675fa8d19.png

I was even happier with this and even posted on here.

My final, if we can ever really say final :) , process took on board what I have learned and practiced to date, I think this is the best of the 3 but would love to hear your thoughts. Who knows, I may go back and do this again later this year with another 6 months practice under my belt. But I would really hope I will have captured more data and better framing this year.

M31_Andromeda.thumb.png.e6e30c4ac37bab050cd2a0814f78ffa9.png

One thing for this year will be shorter subs, try not to blow out the centre too much! 

I did have some pretty bad LP gradients between the channels with a very noticeable magenta bottom left to green top right that proved stubborn to shift.

• Like 12

I think you have made significant progress across the 3 images, for me the core colour and outer arms on the RHS is spot on in image 2 but you have the strong magenta dust lanes on the LHS. You have done a great job on controlling this in image 3 but have lost the core colour somewhat.