NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Total novice, what telescope?

Hi there, I’m totally new this but my eight year old daughter and I are really keen to buy a telescope and see what’s out there? I’m looking for advice on what to buy to get going, such as minimum size, type, accessories required, brands to avoid. Anything really would be great. I see loads of second hand one for sale so will probably go down that route. Thanks in advance for any advice. 

Try the search function or just browse through the forum and read previous threads of the same nature.   It would help if you could advise us what your budget is, what you are hoping to see, what interests you and your daughter and if you want to learn the night sky or have a computerised mount find the targets for you.  

You will never get one scope that suites planetary and deep sky objects, and don't expect to see the same images in books or magazines when looking through a small table top scope.  Like I said, this is probably one of the most regularly asked questions on the forum, so there is plenty to research, so sit down with a cuppa and start browsing 

• Like 1

Sounds like loads of fun ahead for you both but have you considered a pair of binoculars to get you started? 

Cheaper and great for spontaneous "grab 'n go" observing, which is always good for impatient youngsters. 

Not so good for pointing at a specific object and letting someone else can quickly jumping in to have a look. 

As for telescopes,  previous responder has asked what type of objects you'd like to view? There's an element of horses for courses when it comes to telescopes. 

8 minutes ago, Bigstar101 said:

Thanks for your replies. I will take a looks at the links kindly posted. I want to see as far as possible but also want to see the planets. As I said just getting started. 

Plenty on here for new starters.  To anticipate what a small scope might show, you might also want to have a look here: