NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Disappointing moon shots....

Jarndyce

Looking for some advice here, please, as I'm new to this.

I've bought a C80ED for imaging and I'm still experimenting with it.

However, tonight, I had a go at some moon shots with the C6S on the 6SE mount.

I'm not impressed with the results. No matter how hard I try, I can't get sharp images. I have a bahtinov mask, which is great, but can't be used on the moon.

I hook the D70 up to the laptop and use camera control pro to operate it. I've tried multiple shots with tiny incremental focus changes and viewed the images on screen and it doesn't get any sharper than the rather blurry image attached.

So what's going wrong?

1) Collimation's out?

2) Mount vibration? (It's not really designed for astrophotography, but it's only 1/125 sec)

3) I'm stupid...?

post-15738-133877364878_thumb.jpg

It certainly looks as though your focus is off a little.

Is the telescope a SCT? I am not familiar with the cS6. It is a 6" objective I guess.

Collimation may be an answer as to why. If it is out of colli, then focusing would be difficult, and possibly unattainable.

You could also try an IR Filter, or a red filter. All this takes second place to perfect collimation though, especially on a SCT. Also, is you front plate clean, it may be scattering some light.

Ron.

I've wondered whether the moon can fit in focus through the depth of field of a scoped pic ? The nearest part being some 1700 K's closer than the limbs.

I would be extremely suprised if thats the cause... I know I have had issuses with "focus" which have been due to bad collimation.

I would up the ISO and shutter speed and see what happens

Peter...

Thanks for your replies.