Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Not sure which way to go, casagrain or dobsonian

Hello, I’m new to astronomy & had my mind set on a 10” celestron dob, with Starsense, nearly pulled the trigger, then got offered a Meade 8” Lx 10 on a motorised tripod not goto a few hundred pound cheaper, I have had a look into both now I’m still confused , I live intercity so most of my viewing will be from my garden which I believe the casagrain is better suited but the dob has better images and is a 2” bigger apature more light gathering, which way to go 😳😳😳

I have managed to get an 8 Newtonian on a Goto EQ5 mount at a snip, so I thought  at my stage worth a go if I don’t like the scope always got a not so bad mount, may then get a big casagrain one day, as I’m new to the hobby im thinking spend wisely at the start build my gear up, Skywatcher scope so it’s not a hobby killer.

• Like 4

3 hours ago, John the clock said:

I have managed to get an 8 Newtonian on a Goto EQ5 mount at a snip, so I thought  at my stage worth a go if I don’t like the scope always got a not so bad mount, may then get a big casagrain one day, as I’m new to the hobby im thinking spend wisely at the start build my gear up, Skywatcher scope so it’s not a hobby killer.

Not a bad place to start at all there, and both will have a decent resale value should you decide to move them on later down the line. With the EQ5 you also have the opportunity to use different optical tube assemblies such as a cassgrain or refractor which you wouldn't have been able to do with the fork mounted Meade

3 hours ago, John the clock said:

Hope you get on with that combo.  Nothing wrong with either the scope or the mount.  The Synscan GoTo may be a steep learning curve...