SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Less is More?

I have been pursuing the impossible task of astrophotography for a couple of years now and the penny has just dropped. Namely, that the sheer quantity of data processed does not necessarily equal a good quality final image, rather it is the quality of the data processed. To quote someone who knows more than I do about this subject, 'Put crap in, get crap out!'.
Just as a quick example, I imaged Saturn a few days ago with 4" refractor scope (planetary is not usually my thing). Video 5000 frames and then processed in Auotstakkert, Registax. Then tried decreasing the number of frames used for stacking in each image.  The processing was exactly the same for each image. Obviously a 4" scope with shortish focal length is only going to capture a limited amount of detail for this subject but hopefully it demonstrates the point. Maybe 1% would be perfect!

FRAMES 2.jpg

Edited by Bluemoonjim
Update picture

Might try to debayer your data to get even better result.

In any case - lucky imaging is trade off - you want to use only the best subs when seeing is effectively frozen and distortion is minimal - but you want to stack as many subs as possible to get good SNR that will help with sharpening.

• Like 1

Interesting discussion, here is a post I made on the same topic. It is very tempting to put in  all the subs in the hopes of improving the SNR, but I’m getting increasingly more selective on the data I choose to process, especially as my object data files grow ever larger with every season that passes.

• Like 1