NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

FWHM and Bortle

Taraobservatory

Hello,

Probably a stupid question, but here goes.

What is the relationship between FWHM, Bortle, SQM and image scale?

I know what they are by themselves, but can we use a number from SQM and an image scale to determine FWHM? Etc etc.

The reason for the question is that a collimation software (Skywave) needs you to input FWHM to do a correct calibration, but how can you know FWHM without taking a picture to measure? If the scope is uncollimated, I assume your measurement of FWHM will be wrong.
Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Clear skies 

Roger 

I'll try an answer, as you don't have any responses. But I'm no optics expert or even vaguely a physicist, so I'll probably get it wrong. Maybe someone else will then correct me!

Bortle and SQM are measuring darkness of the sky, so are directly related (Bortle is based on ranges of SQM).

However, I don't think darkness of the sky has a direct bearing on FWHM. That's impacted by seeing, which is the state of the atmosphere into which you're looking. In fact, FWHM is often used as a measure of the quality of seeing (however, it can be impacted by your optics, focus etc.)

I don't think image scale affects FWHM as such. As a star is a point source, the FWHM measure in pixels is sort of showing how much the point source has been smeared across multiple pixels by the seeing (or lack of it).

Sadly none of this answers your real question. I'm not really sure why collimation software is asking for your FWHM. I assume it wants to know about your seeing conditions as you collimate. When you know your local conditions, you can maybe estimate this, but if not, I'm not sure really. The whole seeing thing is not something I've got involved in very much. I know it's normally average at best in the UK, and we have so many clouds, I just ignore seeing and image whenever I can!

Wow, that's interesting.