NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Good viewing site - Highlands

Hello, I hope this is not a daft question!

Since I got my ETX I still have not had a chance of using it. In my intro in the welcome thread I told you I was in N.E. Scotland at the moment - however on Sunday next I will be in the area between Inverness and Invergordon for about a week, this is due to work. I will have the opportunity to be out at all times of the night and day so doe's anybody know a good site in that area to set up for a couple of hours - please be gentle, I am a complete beginner.

Regards PP

Just about anywhere in that area should have good dark skies.

Where I live there are a few Loch-side picnic spots which are empty at night and devoid of any street lighting, a parking place and observing site in one spot.

I am sure there will be similiar types of sites near where you will be staying.its not the most heavily populated or light polluted area in the country, so you should find somewhere suitable without too much difficuilty...fingers crossed.:)

Hello

Many thanks crepitis, I am hoping to to find a site for a few days where I can finally have a look through my new telescope. I will be be working at all sorts of hours and have plenty of time during working hours to try this . My company,s site, however has got to be the the most light polluting installation in the area. I wonder if I can get them to turn lights off when not needed. Must think about this!

thanks and regards

PP

Hello

My company,s site, however has got to be the the most light polluting installation in the area. I wonder if I can get them to turn lights off when not needed. Must think about this!

thanks and regards

PP

You could always try pulling the fuse out :)

No idea about a viewing site, but i do know some wonderful salmon rivers round the area! :)

Also if you're a bit of a petrol head and fancy and thrilling drive, try the A939 from Nairn to Granton, ( ah memories)

hi there