Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Collimating an f5 Newt - advice

Hi posting this one here as I am a complete newbie as far as these reflect-y things go…

I followed the Astrobaby blog advice on collimation steps - photo 1 shows what I had at the end of tweaking the secondary. 

Photo 2 shows all 3 clips visible and the centre dot of the collimation cap sitting neatly in the centre circle on the mirror. (Both also aligned with the Cheshire crosshairs but didn’t manage a photo of that). 

The reflection of the whole collimation cap is off centre however. Does this matter and if so what should be my next move bar starting from scratch?  

002F5806-7FE6-4043-99CD-404A18CBFE2C.jpeg

D693F855-4142-4E64-96FC-CF1CC87E7E2F.jpeg

I would say that the secondary mirror is slightly twisted. you'll need to sort that out first.

image.png.e2218bb4a79d6dc1c25d6fa6f3fe09f8.png

you can also see that from the reflection in the second image:

image.png.cdd5f3711f1a58b4161dab6baed22014.png

The above light-blue ellipse shows the outline of the offset secondary. It should be inline with the focuser, once the secondary if facing it correctly. More like:

image.png.1d71411ab642b2509b97e06404d87b51.png

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

think I am getting there. Thanks for all the advice & links.