Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Need A Little Help

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole astronomy scene and need a little help. I was thinking of buying the Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ Telescope and wanted to get some opinions and I also want to be able to take pictures :)

I hope to be able to see the planets, nebulas and maybe even andromida...am I expecting too much from such a telescope? :)

The thing that sparked my interest is Nibiru (Planet X), I want to be able to see it before it destroys us all :mad:

All of those targets are well within the capabilities of that scope. My previous scope was a 114mm reflector, and my present one is a 150mm. You can see most tings, subject to sky conditions and light pollution. It's a good scope from a company with a good reputation.

Firstly, it depends on how you want to "see" galaxies and such. You are NOT going to see glorious images like you get from Hubble (obviously). I don't think you'll see spiral arms and such, probably just little smudges. Still cool, but don't go into this thinking you will see the things that are usually pictured on the box. :)

Secondly, if you want to take photos of anything other than the moon, you will probably need a motor drive. Not a go-to drive (that's cheating!), just one that will slowly pan the scope across the sky to follow whatever you're imaging. I've taken a couple great (in my humble opinion) photos of the moon just shooting down the eyepiece, but not been able to capture anything like a nebula yet. For that you need a bit of further equipment, such as camera mounts, or better yet a webcam with an attachment.