NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with Celestron NextStar 4SE

Hello,

I was hoping someone may be able to help me as I've searched Google and eBay until my hair is falling out.  We have had a Celestron NextStar 4SE for like 5 years.  I am trying to set it up again (from years ago) and we have discovered that one of my kids broke a piece of our telescope.  I cannot for the life of me find what item I need to buy to fix this situation.

I took a screengrab from a YouTube video.  The tube that you insert the eye piece into has broken (at the threads and since was thrown away).  Now I can't figure out how to connect my eyepiece.  There has to be some cheap adapter i would think.  I still have my 25mm plossl eye piece.  What am I missing?  Could someone point me to what I need to buy to replace this part?

Thanks for your help.  I am a total beginner.

PXL_20220131_182530703.MP.jpg

Not sure where you will find that part ( Diagonal barrel ) You could always just get a star diagonal and fit it to the rear port and bypass the upper eyepiece fitting. You would need a 1.25” to T2 adaptor.

Here is the manual

https://www.nexstarsite.com/Manuals.htm

The Nexstar site has loads of info on everything Nexstar related.

Edited by johninderby
  • Like 1

Actually a diagonal barrel from a star diagonal might fit the broken part but hard part would be finding one with the right thread. 🤔

Here’s a photo showing a diagonal fitted using a 1.25” to T2 adaptor.

AE74DEB6-E0E9-4C62-B812-F6233227888E.jpeg

Edited by johninderby
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, johninderby said:

Not sure where you will find that part ( Diagonal barrel ) You could always just get a star diagonal and fit it to the rear port and bypass the upper eyepiece fitting. You would need a 1.25” to T2 adaptor.

Here is the manual

https://www.nexstarsite.com/Manuals.htm

The Nexstar site has loads of info on everything Nexstar related.