SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Need some help, if possible.

I am new to using a OSC CMOS camera and I have got the QHY268c

Now a couple of nights ago, I took 104 x 2min subs (3 hours 28 mins) at low gain mode and 0 gain, through the Idas LP filter with my Tak FSQ85, bortle 6 skies.

My guiding was not great but this was really just a test, I expected great things, but when I processed in APP with Darks, flats and dark flats, I got a really noisy image, well I hope that’s what it is, the detail is there…I think if stretched hard, but looks awful like loads of noise…but wondered if someone could check this link to see the stack from APP and it has a small stretch and even background, and cropped to remove stacking artefacts,  I would like to see what anyone could get from it, and tell me if I am correct about the noise, and what it needs to correct…I’m guessing much more data….

I thought with 104 x 2min subs it would be better, especially with a low gain used, in fact the lowest the camera will do….…🤔🤔

link to APP stack

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gwbkotzahgb04ie/Iris_Nebula-RGB-cropped-LP-st.tiff?dl=0

And a jpg 

A31D1CD8-5A1F-4FF2-8B5C-29D70B15F79D.jpeg

Edited by Stuart1971
  • Like 1

Is this data already stretched?

How about posting linear data instead? Also - use 32bit float point precision data instead of 16bit, especially if you have 16bit camera and stacked 100+ subs.

• Like 1

Stuart, in the last thread about the offset I was curious to why are you using gain 0 ?

Isn't the readout noise 3X that at Gain 30 in mode 0 ? 

image.png.f61677f1e4f1df9edb90d9839df5a9f5.png

Also the fulwell capacity is at its greatest at gain 0 so wouldn't the signal to noise ratio also be greater than at gain 30 ? 
image.thumb.png.79068f96a21ac5c0b7a2ab61783eb19e.png

I admit I may well be wrong as not so familiar with all this , that's how I was thinking it would be.

Steve

Edited by teoria_del_big_bang