NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mak 180 or C8/ C8 Edge for DSO and Moon

Hi friends in astronomy, extremely happy and excited for the first time being here 😀 !

This would be my first post here, hence I need to give you a small background of myself. I have been enjoying astronomy for past 20 years with a Russian 20x60 Russian binocular only but last year I have decided to move up to larger instruments.

First acquisition has been a plain EQ5 and a 120/600 SW achro, followed soon by a MAK 127. Both instruments are great for what they are designed, and I had great time in observations with few peers, here in Romania, outside the city were we are living in.

At some point of time, I felt is high time to move to something larger and somehow took it in a logical order- just bought some time back a larger mount- AZEQ6. Extremely happy with it, is just playing with the 2 instruments I have now, well built, no vibration, very steady views with the 2 instruments.

My interest is only on visual, no imaging planning, and I like the most Moon and DSO on same place and less planets. I am looking mostly either to a C8/ C8 HD or a Mak 180, not so much Newtonians/ Dobsonian, where the discussion starts. I was looking on CC 200 and MN190 but at the end of the day I think C8 and Mak 180 are remaining on the short list. Also to mention I like binoviewing.

I have done plenty of reading around the 2, about large time to cool down mostly on Mak, about collimation on spot for C8, about larger obstruction/ softer view on C8, pin point stars on Mak but smaller FoV, attention to back focus for bino and so on. APO at larger aperture seem too expensive, I may buy at a latter stage an achro 150 f5.9, which should supplement well the Mak (or C8), which should be the "poor man APO" 😀