Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

10" dob.worth upgrading yet?

i've managed to get some good veiwing over the last three nights with my skywatcher explorer 130PM,especially last night when i got a brilliant view of the moon and also saw saturn and its rings for the first time although it was quite faint.my question is before i sucumb to apperture fever could anyone tell what the significant benifits would be to upgrading to the skywatcher 10" dodsonian as these seem to be alot of telescope for not alot of money.would galaxies and nebulae be alot brighter?i have allready been advised on this forum to get a decent 32mm eyepiece so would i be better sticking with my existing scope and upgrading all the standard eyepieces?thanks for looking.

i bought the skyliner 250px 3 weeks ago for £312. Amazingly big scope for the money. I havent had too many clear nights so far, but what I have seen is impressive (to me-i am new to this). The Moon under 480x mag was amazing. Saturn was a decent size bright disc with a clear thin horizontal line cutting thru it -the moons were also visible. I couldnt make out any surface details but the sky wasnt very dark. I need to take the scope to a darksky site and maybe try some filters (i need advise here-which colour and type would be best).

Do consider portability before you buy.The base weighs 12kg and the tube weighs 12kg too. 112cm tube fits across my back seat.

Also, collimation can be an issue on a large F5 reflector-took me lots of practice to get this spot on for the focuser + secondary (primary is then easy to do).

Fell free to ask any questions.

Mike

Sorry, one last thing to consider b4 you buy a dobsonian: you may miss not having slow motion controls. If you want to look at the moon and saturn under high mag then the image moves fairly quickly and you have to nudge the scope every few seconds. When first ordering a scope in December I was adamant i wanted slow motion controls but now i'm not that bothered.