SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Andromeda, Pleiades & Dumbbell Nebula - TIFs

varius21

Hello,

Tonight was my very VERY first session of "astrophotography" if you can call it that in my case.
I managed to set up my new eq6-r with my zenithstar 73 and my dslr and used ASIAIR pro to capture some images of M27, M31 and M45.

Since it was my very first attempt and I am a complete newbie, I didn't do much research on exposure times etc so I used today as a "Test shoot"

I captured:
Andromeda 10 x 30 second exposures.
Pleiades 10 x 30 second exposures.
Dumbbell Nebula 10 x 60 second exposures (if I remember correctly).

However all the tutorials I watched for post processing didn't do me any good. I need to LEARRRRN!
Here are the 3 stacked tifs. I was wondering if anything half decent can come out of them?

If anyone wants to give it a try...

m27.TIFm31.TIFpleiades.TIF

m27.TIF m31.TIF pleiades.TIF

Hello there!

I gave your m45 a try out of interest, but as suspected 5 minutes data brought out a lot of noise 😱 So my result was not worth posting (infact I gave up quite early!). But at the same time, I am also very much a noob!

What equipment are you using out of interest? :)

Lucky for us in the midlands, it should be a clear night from 8pm to around 1am if the websites are correct, enough time to spend 4-5 hours on one target. This makes processing very very much easier by improving you signal to noise ratio, the differences was clear to me when I tried processing 1 hours worth of data, then stacked another 3 hours on top of the same image, and tried again. The difference as suspected was night and day.

Also get use to taking caliberation frames, especially flats, I noticed a lot of dust bunnys on the picture.

Cheers :)

Grant

• Thanks 1

44 minutes ago, scotty38 said:

Here's the M31 with nothing other than a basic stretch and gradient removal. If nothing else you may need some flats to get rid of the dust etc.

Good first attempt though.