Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

WL and H-alpha action from today (phone pics included)

Victor Boesen

I recently started studying at university so time has been limited lately, however, this week was my holidays and today the weather was mostly clear. I decided to get out my TecnoSky 102mm APO and solar flight case for some white light and H-alpha observing.

IMG_20211023_135902.thumb.jpg.ee8d057714c29e58f5cec7c523ee6946.jpg
This was also the first time I got to try out the skywatcher AZ mount extension I bought second hand a while ago. Really happy with it so far.

I started in white light in which both AR2886 and 2887 looked beautiful during moments of steady conditions. I must say, conditions weren't the best today, very turbulent but calm in some occasions. Especially AR2887 had many interesting features such as very prominent faculae around the entire region and small islands of spots located inside the faculae. AR2886 had a sharp penumbra and oval umbra which looked great among the surface granulation. During my white light observing I used an OIII filter to increase contrast and detail in granulation (Baader continuum filter still knocking the back of my head reminding me of its existence, but not prioritized yet). Other than the two active regions a very small sunspot was visible about half way between the two ARs and another  one further south of the solar equator.

IMG_20211023_140056__01.thumb.jpg.8614602beced6465cc543988f66331e6.jpg
Note the obvious faculae around AR2887 and the small sunspot between the two ARs.

After a while of white light observing and cloud dodging I decided to bring out my Quark Chromosphere and do some H-alpha observing. I was mostly interested in the eastern limb and AR2887 which looked like it had some potential interesting features judging by the white light features. After a quick switch, I was finally ready for H-alpha observing.

IMG_20211023_144926.thumb.jpg.feca368ffe2a1b5cea942564118213a4.jpg