Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Unknown star (Skysafari problem)

I'm a new user of Skysafari and I used it for just the second time last night. It was pretty cloudy but some of Ursa Major was visible so I looked at my favourites, Mizar and Alcor. I usually use very low power for this pair but as I had a new 5mm eyepiece I tried that out. I was immediately surprised to see that Mizar itself split into a pair. I wasn't expecting that. However looking at Skysafari on my iphone the pair displayed were 0.6" apart. That was well beyond the resolution of my telescope. Being new I wondered if this "unknown" pair was some sort of artefact of my cheap ST80 but that didn't seem likely. Reading the Skysafari information on Mizar it did refer to a 14" double which would fit in, but the display did not show it. Searching for an answer today I find that this is a long-standing Skysafari issue. That's disappointing and has knocked my confidence in the app. As a naive beginner, I did kind of expect these apps to get the basics right (especially in such a prominent pairing). Should I be expecting more disappointment with Skysafari or is this a one-off?

Edited by Richard N

Hi Richard 

I have looked on sky safari 6 pro and can see Zeta Ursae Majoris B. But not the companion star to the south east of Mizar. In stellarium I can see ZUM B and then zooming in closer I can see the unknown star to the south east (see stellarium screenshot) is this the star you saw? And below that screenshot from SS6. 

Screenshot_20210807_093126_com.noctuasoftware.stellarium_free.jpg

Screenshot_20210807_093417_com.simulationcurriculum.skysafari6pro.jpg

Edited by AstroNebulee

This is what I saw and this is what SS 6 Plus shows. SS6+ appears to have no knowledge of the wider Mizar pair. A quick search on the web shows this problem has been known since 2018. 

61DF1BE9-03B7-4DC0-9111-908513D22E24.jpeg

FF191D16-2A13-4E74-B13B-2F4662B47ACD.png

Edited by Richard N
  • Like 1