Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Spare Parts for EQ5 Mount, where?

wobbly

Bought a used EQ5 Mount, 2001 Vintage but hardly been used and the Declination barrel had very firmly seized, when I stripped Mount down not surprised as all grease was part set like Araldite!

Had to use heat to free the Declination barrel and there is a large diameter nylon O Ring which sits at the base, acts like a 'bearing', require a new one

All now working 100% and reassembled but require this new O Ring just for piece of mind

Anyone know of any company who can supply parts please? (a workshop manual type document will also be handy)

I am a beginner to astronomy (around 10 days :( ) and STILL waiting for my first clear night, in meantime stripping down the EQ5 and rebuilding it taught me a lot about EQ Mounts as didnt even know how to use both the ones I have when I bought them in past 10 days (one new, one used)

I'm pretty sure they are the same mount, as is the Vixen GP. I think you might be able to get the spares from Celestron USA, don't quote me though. Is it one of those flat round (annular) type rings made from teflon maybe? I have some in my old super polaris, they are about 1mm thick.

As for the manual, try google'ing vixen gp manual. That should help you out.

Wobbly,

If its what I'm thinking of, I think I have one!!

What thickness is it?

Its approx 0.5mm thick, 5mm wide and around 75mm diameter, plastic/nylon

Many thanks to all the posters for the info, much appreciated, cheers :thumbright:

Wobbly,

What thickness is it?

Many thanks to all the posters for the info, much appreciated, cheers :thumbright: