NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Viewing Venus for the first time

MrGlen

:(

Hi,

im pretty new to this but have had some brilliant results from viewing the moon with my Skywatcher 200P Dobs.

When i turn to venus what should i see?

It seems pretty small but has a crescent but cant see any sharp detail and it does appear pretty small in the eyepiece.

Is this normal? I am using a 10mm lens along with a 2x Barlow.

If anyone could offer me some advice that would be great.

Thanks

MrGlen

Yep Venus' atmosphere is one of the most reflective in the solar system (hence its brilliant brightness). Also the planet is completely surrounded by dense cloud. This means we cannot see much detail at all no-matter what the aperture/magnification. and I agree.... just wait till you see the big boys.. Jupiter and Saturn :( .

Saturn rises in the East from around 9:30ish. Best to wait till at least 10:30 so its a bit higher in the sky. Rising earlier as the months go on. Jupiter is too close to the sun at the moment to view.

I recommend downloading stellarium its free and works a treat helpin to find things in the sky

Matt

You could try using an aperture mask (70 -80mm), as Venus is showing some cloud features at the moment. I made a sketch about 8 hours before this chap in America:

http://www.cloudynights.com/ubbthreads/attachments/2881841-01.22.09%20CED%202%20Venus%20by%20So%20copy.JPG

While Sol Robbins has captured more detail in his sketch, I did managed

to pick out the major cloud features that he shows, also the shape of the terminator.

p.s. I also used a yellow filter.