Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Second hand mount....help?

Hi, so! I've messaged someone about a second hand mount (NEQ6 to be precise) and, in doing so, have realised that I have absolutely no idea what I am doing. I have never used an EQ mount before, so I have no idea what I'm looking at/for. Is there anyone who could possibly help me figure out if the mount I am looking at is a decent option? Won't share the ad here for the privacy of the person who posted (its not on here, and its not anonymous). 

An neq6 is a very decent mount, suitable for imaging. As an imager, and having owned an EQ6 for ten years, you won’t really go wrong at all.  It has a good payload capacity, tracks well, is widely supported online, has many users, and is easily controlled via a pc  

If imaging isn’t your plan, then perhaps there are better options!  But since I’ve never observed I cannot give you advice there.

Godd luck!

14 minutes ago, tooth_dr said:

An neq6 is a very decent mount, suitable for imaging. As an imager, and having owned an EQ6 for ten years, you won’t really go wrong at all.  It has a good payload capacity, tracks well, is widely supported online, has many users, and is easily controlled via a pc  

If imaging isn’t your plan, then perhaps there are better options!  But since I’ve never observed I cannot give you advice there.

Godd luck!

Thank you! Much appreciated. 

I'm kind of looking to do both - observing to get the hang of it (I'm almost a complete newbie, having only ever used a mate's 130p dob) then venture into imaging. The NEQ6 is likely to be a bit overkill for me tbh, but I'm gritting my teeth at there being no HEQ5s anywhere - and those being sold second hand usually go before I even see the adverts (either that, or they have some kind of fault). So I was wondering if I could get away with the NEQ6 while I'm waiting, then sell that on when the demand mounts settles down somewhat again.