Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

stacking two fits images in Siril

I am not an expert, but when I used it recently, it gave me very good results for the same process that ended up with hot pixel trails in deep sky stacker.

This is the process I follow:

You need to put all your images ( light frames, darks and flats in separate sub folders named "Lights", "Darks" "Flats"- the names should be exactly those, otherwise it wouldnt work) in one single folder . 

Then head over to siril, use each of the tabs in sequence--File conversion, sequence, pre-processing etc..

While in file conversion, select the "change directory" button and select your "Lights" subfolder. Then click on "Add" with the plus sign that is to the right of the source box and add the files. If you have colour Light frames, add them all in one go and give a sequence name eg: light and then click convert. If you have separate R, G and B subframes, only add the individual channel frames and convert them under separate sequence names. Also do the same for your darks and flats. Once this step is complete, move onto the next tab- Sequence. You select all of the sequences generated in the previous process one by one and give a name and click "export sequence". before you do that you can reject the frames that you dont like by viewing them individually in the viewing window that would appear.

next move onto Pre-processing tab. here you can choose your master dark and flat files and pre-process your sub-frames

then move onto registration- fairly straigtforward process.

Then plot- here you will see how your frames are differing in quality from the median line. Keep the median quality number in mind