Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Setup checklist

Happy Friday!

I'm just starting out with astrophotography and, whilst painfully waiting for my HEQ5 to arrive, I'm trying to prepare a setup checklist to make my first few sessions as focused as possible and not spend half of my time trying to remember what to do. Clear skies are a precious commodity in the UK so I want to use wisely 😆

The idea is this list will cover all the steps from setting up my equipment to all the individual steps to follow in the software.

Do any of you kind souls have such a checklist to share so I can borrow and compare?

I have N.I.N.A as my image acquisition software. PHD2, Stellarium, (can't remember the plate solver 😊

My gear: SW Evostar 72ed, Evoguide50ed with ASI 120mm, ZWO ASI 183MM Pro GT, (HEQ5 pending)

Thank you!

-Thingy-

Hi,

One piece of advice I can give (I'm not that experienced myself but this is advice I've previously been given & also heard many times) is forget about guiding to start with. There's enough to learn to start  & guiding can come later.

With a good polar alignment you should be able to get 3 to 5 min subs with no problem. Concentrate on the basics first, polar alignment, framing & focusing etc & get used  to  been able to use the capture software efficiently . Trying to jump straight in at the deep end can lead to frustration (I know this from past experience). 

Once you've mastered these & your happy with your procedure then think about adding to it with guiding etc. That's just my opinion anyway.

Good luck.

Edited by nephilim
Spelling error
  • Like 2

Checklist is a great idea. Before I made one (albeit a mental one), I had a couple of sessions where I made some mistakes which cost a lot of valuable observing time. For what it's worth here's mine:

1. Take out tripod, extend legs so it's roughly waist high, get it more or less level (not essential but helps with polar-alignment).
  2. Take out mount and attach it to tripod.