Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

CMOS Camera for beginner help

Hi all,

I would like to progress into the world of planetary imaging. The main targets would be the bigger planets, the moon and if possible some bright DSO (M57 being my top achievable DSO on the list with the set up I have). 

Current set up: C6 XLT, Celestron AVX.
Computer: MacBook Pro, however in have recently installed windows using boot camp. 

I have been looking at the ZWO ASI120 and ASI224 both colour as I’m only just starting out and don’t want to get to lost with monochrome. I've read about the 2.0 usb on the 120 playing up so ideally I would look for 3.0 USB. I have looked at the modded webcam option but I’m not that technical, nor have lots of spare time and when you add up the cost I may as well invest. Then if I do progress I can sell it to another beginner like me to upgrade.

I am looking for suggestions, my approx budget is £150-200. 

I was undecided between the ZWO ASI 120MM Mini and the ASI 224MC as well. I wanted a camera that would be good for both guiding and planetary imaging. After some research, I decided to get the ASI 224MC. I read all sorts of problematic experiences with the 120MM Mini (others even with the 120MC-S), expecially under Linux/Raspberry (KStars and EKOS suite). Since I use a Raspberry to control my gear, I decided for the better camera. Even the dealer at the store where I ordered it from, without any negative input on my part, immediately suggested the 224MC for a more suitable camera, both for guiding and planetary imaging.

44 minutes ago, Cosmic Geoff said:

I recommend the ASI224MC.  It's good for planets and small DSOs, or EEVA.

If cash is short, try the ASI120MC-S (3.0 USB) but it's more of an entry level camera.

I see you have the star sense also, I’m looking to buy that also. Is it worth it?

52 minutes ago, endlessky said: