Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Longer, colder subs?

rubecula

I've been using my current calibration frames for the last 12 months and was thinking perhaps I should refresh them.  For that time I have been imaging at -20C with exposures of 600sec.

Many of you seem to use much longer subs and as the mount seems to track well I was wondering if I should change to say 900s, 1200s or even 1800s.  Also whether I should move to a lower temperature.

What's really detering me from going to longer subs is the frustration of when a sub has been running for 500+ secs and a bit of cloud comes over and SGP abandons the image thus loosing nearly 10 minutes of clear sky.

I guess loosing nearly 1800s would be 3 times as frustrating.  Maybe this is a question for those living above 51 degrees lat, would you, or do you, use longer subs?

Thanks

If you can track/ guide for longer than the worm period ( usually 7 mins) then theres no reason you can't do 900 or 1200 or whatever

-20... I use -10 on my camera as it's cooling is -25 from ambient  and hopefully I'd be able to maintain the -10 in the summer months.. wouldn't have a chance with -20..my camera isn't noisy and I don't use darks for calibration

What camera are you using? 

• Thanks 1

I'm using the Atik 383L.  It maybe belts and braces but I use darks and have PHD2 do a small dither every alternate frame.

I hink the mount would cope well with say 1200 but I'm worried about SGP aborting an image when clouds appear.  At least tonight I hadn't started imaging.  The forecast was for clear sky but just as plate solve had centred on the target the clouds rolled in.  It's still cloudy now despite the forecast!

7 hours ago, rubecula said:

I'm using the Atik 383L.  It maybe belts and braces but I use darks and have PHD2 do a small dither every alternate frame.