Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

StarShoot Autoguider problem with PHD2

Hello all,

First post on this forum and as someone who is brand new to astrophotography. 

I have invested in a beginners setup and feeling my way around things but having 2 issues at the moment. 

The first issue I am having is with my StarShoot autoguide camera.

I have downloaded drivers and have connected to my laptop. I can see the device under device manager and I can connect to PHD2 (takes a few minutes and often get an error code 13 a few times first).

However, when I actually view the feed in PHD2 is is just a bunch of grey lines in matter of I am pointing at the night sky, with lens cap on or somewhere lighter.

Has anyone else come across this kind of issue before? Any ideas on a fix?

I will leave my other issue for now as that is irrelevant while this is a problem.

For reference if someone does reply, I am quite tech savvy however I am new to anything astrophotography specific so appreciate if you could keep that in mind.

Thanks in advance!

Lance

The display in PHD2 is not optimised in the same way as imaging software would, so always looks grainy, but should show stars.

Have you hit the Loop Exposures button on the bottom bar?

Have you set exposure to between 1 and 3 seconds?

Have you adjusted the display brightness to the left of the brain icon?

Might be worth showing a screen grab - the Prt Scrn button on your keyboard top row will save to the clipboard.

Michael

Hi all,

I am using an Orion StarShoot autoguide camera. This is what I select as part of the connection wizard and seems (after the initial errors) to connect ok. 

I have clicked on the loop icon and this is where I get the issue. I will grab a screenshot when I next hook up.

Thanks

Lance 

You do have the camera mounted to a scope (either guide scope or with an OAG to the main scope) ?

With just the camera you won't see much more than a grainy picture.