Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Orion and friends over a chimney

I've never done any widefield before but I had a Nikon Z6 to hand last night and it was beautifully clear, so I took ~25 untracked 5 second exposures looking back over my house. f/4, 24mm (using Nikkor's Z6 24-70mm FX Z-mount lens)

Orion_over_Chimney.thumb.jpg.eebfc01ef226fe5e418449efa066a6d4.jpg

The image came out better than I'd hoped, though in getting rid of the worst of the skyglow I also lost some of the brightness of the milky way. I'm still quite happy with how it came out.

Processed with PixInsight - calibrated with dark and bias, debayered, aligned, integrated and CFA drizzled at 1x scale, DBE, BN, PCC, MLT denoise, TGVDenoised, histogrammed, colour sat and curves to finish.

Bonus - non-colour-corrected drizzled integrated master:

drizzle_integration.thumb.jpg.fb0e4412c246a95534c5aec2d5b8d248.jpg

Edited by discardedastro
  • Like 6

That's worked rather well for a first attempt. We'll be seeing more I hope.

I now almost exclusively use the Z6 for my widefield static shots and really like it. By far the easiest camera I've ever used as everything I want can be operated one handed and custom buttons set up just so.

If you want another go then the 24mm end of the lens could be used for a bit longer. I've done 15 seconds at 24mm and it's ok as long as you don't view the image at 200% :)

Sequator is an app just made for this stuff as you can then stack the sky to get a lovely smooth noise free image and the foreground doesn't go blurred. Windows only though.

Dave

On 03/12/2019 at 11:04, davew said:

That's worked rather well for a first attempt. We'll be seeing more I hope.

I now almost exclusively use the Z6 for my widefield static shots and really like it. By far the easiest camera I've ever used as everything I want can be operated one handed and custom buttons set up just so.