Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher 1.25" adapter replacement.

Hi all,

Beginner here, slowly getting set up with my new (to me) 200p.
I picked up a Canon 500d and T-adapter with 1.25" fitting recently.

As expected I can achieve focus with Camera > T-adapter > Scope, (image E)
but I can not with Camera > T-adapter > 1.25" adapter > Scope. (image F). There isn't enough inward travel.
The same is true with a barlow in between.

The photographs are just to show the equipment - I realise the focuser is not fully down/in? in the images.

It gets very close to focus; Another quarter inch would do it so I was thinking of buying a second 1.25" (circled Images C and F)
A low profile one would be ideal. If that doesn't exist I figure I could cut/grind a spare one down half an inch,
then drill and thread for grub screws.

Problem is I'm having trouble finding this part and am now wondering is it unique to the brand?

I suppose a low profile barlow is an option but I'd rather have universal kit than one modified piece.

I'm certain about the direction of travel required.
I actually fitted the circled part in image C into the back of its mate (same image) for testing and could achieve focus perfectly but, of course, the camera wasn't secure.

First real question here, but I've learned a lot already from reading! Thank you for this wonderful resource. :)

Apologies for vague or incorrect terminology. 😂

IMG_5036.JPG

IMG_5037.JPG

IMG_5038.JPG

IMG_5039.JPG

IMG_5040.JPG

IMG_5041.JPG

Edited by Steenamaroo

14 minutes ago, Cornelius Varley said:

The only two items you need are the t-ring and the lower part in picture C.  This part should have a t-thread that matches the thread on the t-ring.

Yes, I've set up that arrangement in images D+E and it works just fine.
I'd like the option of placing a barlow in-line, though.

Thanks ^.

24 minutes ago, Ruud said:

I've seen these but that's described as a 2" to 1.25".