Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece Help

Hi All

Im still asking lots of questions, i am new to all of this and need help on a new eyepiece.

I know the constellations, when viewing through the finder scope, all is well, once i look through my lowest mag eyepiece, im lost.

My lowest mag eyepiece at the moment is 25mm, would it be better for me to use a 32mm or 40mm eyepiece first to coordinate myself and then use stronger mag to, as it were, zoom in? (Reading this back to myself im not sure if i make sense or not) hopefully someone get the gist of what im trying to say.

I understand the easiest way would be to follow coordinates out of books, but im not sure if my mount is up to it, im using a Skywatcher 150p on a EQ3-2 mount.

Once again thanks for the time

• Like 1

57 minutes ago, Plumb71 said:

Im still asking lots of questions..

Paraphrasing Tyson: It's probably only people who don't ask questions who remain clueless and dumb. You ask on and you'll be the wisest amongst all :thumbright:

I'm not sure if it helps but a useful aid is to make circles either on a transparent piece of plastic or from wire that correspond to the field of view of your main low and medium power eyepieces.  Use these circles on your star atlas to help plot your field of view and to map out your star hops from the brighter stars.

Other tools I've found really useful - but acknowledge they aren't for everyone - is a Telrad or Rigel Quickfinder etc to get in the neighourbhood, then use a RACI finder scope. Just orientate the star chart so it aligns with what is being seen through the finder and star hop from there.

If I've grasped your question correctly, I also think Moonshane's Locating Objects in the Night Sky  an invaluable aid.

Edited by Rob Sellent
  • Like 2

51 minutes ago, Rob Sellent said: