Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Stack or Edit First?

Let me start by stating that I'm fairly new to astrophotography.  I have a Canon 6D Mark II with an EF 24-105 F4L IS USM lens and a Rokinon 14mm F2.8 lens, a Manfrotta tripod and an iOptron star tracker.  I've done a ton of research and tried to plan thoroughly for a recent Milky Way shoot in the Anza-Borrego desert last weekend.  I took about 20 shots with the Rokinon lens at ISO 1000, f2.8, 120 second exposures.  I had to toss 8 of them because of planes flying through, but that still left me with 12 decent images.  I shot 7 dark frames and 10 offset frames.  I tried to capture flat frames using the white T-shirt method but I could clearly see uneven lighting through the material so I figured they were going to do more harm than good and skipped that.

The star tracker was aligned very well - reviewing the raw images in Lightroom 6 and PaintShop Pro showed no visible migration of stars from one image to another, even when zoomed way in at the corners.

I used DSS to stack the photos and made sure that the “embed changes but do not apply them” box was checked before saving the final image.  When I imported that into Lightroom 6, the image was very dark.  The stars and Milky Way appeared only after boosting the exposure - a lot.  But the final image was nearly colorless, save for a strong yellow tint.  I tried everything I could in Lightroom to draw out the colors, but the results never came close to the original images in terms of color accuracy. 

Making matters worse, while I had no problem applying the Rokinon lens corrections to the original raw images in Lightroom (it appears in the list under the "Custom" setup option), it would not offer me the Rokinon profile when editing the TIFF file - the list only includes the default lenses.  So I cannot eliminate the slight fish eye effect or the blurring of stars in the corners.  That would seem to be a non-starter for me.