NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Starting out...total newbie!

AstroStokie

Hi all. 

I figured that as I’m not going to be affording any imaging gear for a while, I’d like to give sketching a go. I know they’re two completely different disciplines, but I’ve no idea where to start, especially with equipment. If anyone can give advice about type of paper/pencils etc, that would be great. 

Thanks in advance. 

I started sketching a few months back and haven't gone down the road of processing the sketches and all the other things you can do to them, but have stuck to some basic black card, or thick black paper and a white gel ink pen. For 24 sheets and the pen and a white pencil, I spent about £10.  

I know others on here have had great success with sketches and some really are amazing so I guess they will pass over a few of their secrets.  

This was my latest one - it's not amazing by any means but when you have a nice bunch of them in a folder they really look quite good..

Look forward to seeing your first sketch

IMG_20190312_212434.jpg

Thanks, Mark. So you’d suggest a gel pen over a pencil then? How do you go about smudging and that kind of thing? And I’m guessing you just draw your own circles? ?‍♂️

Sketch looks good...just the kind of thing I had in mind! ??

4 hours ago, AstroStokie said:

Thanks, Mark. So you’d suggest a gel pen over a pencil then? How do you go about smudging and that kind of thing? And I’m guessing you just draw your own circles? ?‍♂️

Sketch looks good...just the kind of thing I had in mind! ??