SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which GoTo Mount for Deep sky photography

Hi,

I am new to all this. Very interested in astrophotography. Looking to buy a goto system and a good cheap small refractor telescope.

my question is..with the goto system, do I have to use a laptop to control it or NOT. Very sorry about the stupid question. I have done a bit or research, but still not sure.

Hi and welcome to SGL.

With goto mount you don't need a lap top to control the mount. Mount has hand controller that you can use to select object and tell mount to go to it and track it. Most hand controllers have database of objects, but you can also go-to object not in your database by simply entering celestial coordinates in your hand controller.

Such goto mount can also be controlled via lap top. In this instance lap top plays a role of hand controller, but usually more powerful. For this you need suitable cable to connect mount to computer - most are some sort of serial to usb cable.

There are even mounts that work via wifi connection - and are usually controlled via smartphone or tablet. These can also be connected to either hand controller or computer via regular cable (computer can also connect via wifi same as smartphone or tablet).

One thing that you will need lap top for, at least in most cases, is guiding the mount in long exposure photography. There are stand alone autoguider devices, that don't require laptop, but people often prefer guiding cameras controlled via lap top.

You don't need a laptop or desktop computer for Astrophotography BUT

With no computer

you lose plate solving,

you limit yourself  to DSLR (mainly) cameras

you lose the ability to do sequences of exposures and/or targets

and lots of other nice to be able to do things

Hello Nomi.

Welcome to SGL. The best advice is do not rush. Take your time to read posts in the forum and ask lots of questions.