NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Class D Amplifiers\Drivers.....

Dr_Ju_ju

I first apologise if this is too technical or not technical enough, or even in the wrong place, but...  

Does anyone know if they have been used, and or tested for driving mount motors, or even focuser, filter wheels etc, ??

I ask, as I've recently been repairing a Bose Companion 3, active speaker system that uses 2 class D, power amplifier chips TDA7492(50+50 W) & TDA7498(100+100 W).

They sometimes, erroneously, get called digital amplifiers, because of the 'D', but they have absolutely nothing to do with digits of any sort, except those that get singed, replacing chips....

Whereas I am an old school engineer, where the pinnacle of power amplifier design was class A\B (and maybe still is ?, I even used to make my own Quad 405's), but these require beefy power supplies, driver transistors\mosfets, heatsinks etc. wasting lots of power & generating wasted heat. There are clever power rail switching systems, resulting in class G\H amps, but they are still, relatively, very inefficient (best to ~ 70-85%), more complicated, costly  et al...

One of the major advantages of a class D amplifier is their efficiency, typically 98-99%, especially so, over a wide bandwidth and differing loadings, so most of the power available, gets delivered to the motors\loudspeakers, with very little wasted heat, so would be ideal for our mount drivers, especially those running on batteries. Even those people who use large linear power supplies, and I'm one, can now happily switch to more efficient, smaller switched mode supplies, as they are much more 'noise' tolerant.

Even the stepper motor drivers, that are currently used, are not as efficient, and a lot of the power we supply, is lost as waste heat.