Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What to expect from a Sky-Watcher SWA-58-5

GKA

Hi guys,newbie here,i just recently bought a Sky-Watcer Startravel 120, and together With this i also bought the above mentioned eyepiece,it is also marked 

"WA Plossl 5mm Eyepiece" 

I also bought a Barlow x2.

Yesterday i aimed my startravel 120 against the moon to get a look,and i was a bit dissapointed.

The two Eyepieces that were in the kit,a super 10 and a super 25 showed Clear images,but not very big magnefication,even with the 2x Barlow lens attached.

But the big dissapointment was the  Sky-Watcher SWA-58-5 i was not able to get the image Sharp,and it looks like it may be dirt of some kind inside the lens,or is this just distorsion due to high magnefication?

Is this Eyepies suitable for moon watching,or is it better for Objects further out?

Hoping someone has some advice to share.

All the best from Norway.

Eyepiece.jpg

A 5mm eyepiece should give you 120x with your scope, which should be possible. Using the barlow, that is 240x which is pushing your scope to its upper limit. However, conditions make all the difference. Hazy conditions, or thermals, will play havoc with high magnification. It will be like looking at something underwater ... the image will be all wavy.

If it is dirt on the eyepiece, this will show up as black blotches on the image rather than failing to bring the image to focus.

Try it again, but on a bright star. It should be a pinpoint. If you cannot get that, then there is a focus problem or a manufacturing problem with this particular item. If you can get a pinpoint, then the eyepiece is ok and it would be the conditions.