Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter

I just wondered what you would expect Jupiter to look like though a 3-4 inch refractor? I have an astromaster 90.

I had my first night viewing with it tonight and to be honest I was expecting a little bit more, my brother also thought we should see more than we could. We saw Jupiter and 3 of it's moons, but we could see that through my bins, albeit smaller, I was just expecting to see at least some colour and it's bands maybe, but it was just a white disc.

My brother said it might be because it is low down in the sky, and if it was higher we might be able to see more with the scope I have.

I would just like to know if Jupiter was higher would I see more detail, or is my scope just not good enough wherever it is in the sky?

We found the andromida galaxy too but that didn't look much different to looking through my binoculars either :)

Sax

Jupiters just too low at the moment, I've only had about half a dozen nights over the last couple of years where I've had decent views in any of my scopes. Andromeda is just a disapointing object in most small/ medium sized scopes TBH, it just looks like a big oval fuzzy patch.

Hi Sax,

I have a 85mm scope and had a quick look earlier on in the night. It's just too low at the moment. My light pollution is also bad to the south. When Jupiter is higher you will see more. Don't be put off.

I have seen 3 clear bands with my binoculars so your scope will show you more,given time.

Argonaut.

Thxs for the link! However I am a bit confused as the program shows jupitar as a dot for my set up(evostar 100ED) but I have seen huge pictures using the 80mm scope.

Kind Regards,

Paul

NB Can you really blow images up that much?

Thanks everyone, looks like I'll just have to wait for it to be higher then.