Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advise on Eyepieces for Skywatcher 130M

umycot

Hello all

I’m totally new to all of this and have always had an interest and curiosity in the stars and planets so the wife treated me to a telescope as a present. Great stuff. So I can only apologise for the naivety!!!

I was wondering if I could pick someone’s brain who has the same telescope as mine or experience with it. 

I was going to expand/replace my eyepiece collection and wondered if there were suggestions to get the best out of viewing the planets and the moon. (Also is it worth getting a moon filter?)

The telescope has an aperture of 130mm and 900mm focal length. 

Thank you in advance. 

First, what's your budget?  Most folks recommend the BST Starguider line as very good step-up line of eyepieces for folks on a budget.

I have a moon filter and never use it.  Just stare at a sheet of white paper lit by a flashlight (torch) to constrict your eye's pupil before looking in the eyepiece if the moon seems too bright.  The moon is as bright as asphalt at noon.

Thanks for the reply. 

I was thinking around £50-£60. But i don’t know if that is realistic. I know they’ll be a limit of what would be beneficial for a fairly entry level telescope. 

Any suggestions on magnification?

3 hours ago, umycot said:

I was thinking around £50-£60.

Total or per eyepiece budget?  If that's you're entire eyepiece budget, I'd need to know what eyepieces you already have to make the best use of your limited funds to augment and fill in holes.  You could also go with an 8-24mm zoom such as the Celestron or SkyWatcher to stretch your budget.