NGC7000 (Caldwell 20) North America Nebula

Rattler

Just got round to posting this. I had so many issues that night. AP is not easy lol. Still I'm fairly pleased that I actually got this data just before sunrise. I need to add another 2 or 3 hours plus another 2 or so in Hydrogen Alpha at some point. I'm still learning and just started using Pixinsight so lots to learn.

NGC7000 (Caldwell 20) North America Nebula
22/04/18, Dunsop Bridge
Type- Emission Nebula
Location- Cygnus
Distance- 1600 Light years
Size- Diameter 100 Light years

Scope- Explore Scientific ED80 APO Triplet
Mount- SW NEQ6 Pro Synscan
Camera- Canon 600d (modified)
Guide Scope- Altair Astro 50mm
Guide Camera- Altair Astro GPCAM2 290 mono
Software- Astrophotography Tool, PHD2, EQMOD, Deep Sky Stacker, Pixinsight (Trial) and PS.

3 x 10 minute exposures

NGC7000.jpg

15 minutes ago, LightBucket said:

Great image, maybe take more darks to reduce the noise some... :)

Cheers. Yeah there aren't actually any darks or other calibration frames here. I ran out of time with the sun rising. I defo need to add more to it.

Good work :-) ....try Morphological Transformation to reduce the stars and bring out the nebula :-)

David

20 hours ago, Buzzard75 said:

Best part about calibration frames is they can be done any time, including when the sun is up! :D

They can with set point cooled cameras. With cameras whose temperature is not controlled it is a moot point whether darks are useful or do more harm than good. Some of the best uncooled DSLR users recommend bias-as-dark and a large (12 pixel) dither between subs. Personally I don't even use darks any more with set point cooled CCD. I use bias-as-dark and bad pixel map.

Olly

2 hours ago, ollypenrice said: