Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ZWO ASI 290 MMC: Noisy picture, can't see anything

Archonom

Hello there,

I am a newbie in the field of observing the sky. After having some success viewing interesting objects through my scope, I thought I make my dream come true and buy a decent camera for astrophotography (I know, for most of you guys, this is how a typical beginner's horror story starts :P).

I was still in the process of researching and learning, when suddenly I had the chance to buy a used ZWO ASI 290 MMC (color, cooled) camera. Although I did not complete my research and did not know for 100% what I should prepare before buying anything, I thougt I'd be fine by buying this cam for planets and some brighter deep sky objects.

Now the camera is located on my desk and should be fine, so it should not be broken or something like that.

Well, since I am still new in this field I was being very naive: I thought I'd simply install all required drives and software on Windows 10 (I also tried on Linux, btw) and then would be able to connect the cam to my PC and view an image through the cam (like, let's say, some stuff in my room), just for testing purposes.

But, after connecting it via USB 3 to three different PCs/notebooks, I always saw only very bright images with strange colors.

Then, reading the ZWO ASI quick starter guide, I learned that without a lense, I would not be able to see anything. Unfortunately, this cam did not come with any fisheye lense or something like that.

So I attached a 2x barlow lense directly to the cam, and then I started seeing lots of dots (noisy picture). I then researched further and read that one should first attach a 1,25 piece to the cam and then wind the barlow lense on top of it (so the setup is: cam -> 1,25 inch piece -> 2x barlow lense).

After doing this, I started seeing very blurry and noisy images (like the one in the attachment of this post).