SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

should I just give up?

greenkat

Ok, before I go take some headache tablets, i'm going to ask for help :bino2:

This was taken with an olympus e500 dslr, set at 398mm, 10x40sec exposures, I've tried enhancing with photoshop, deepsky stacker, registax ect ect ect , but cant seem to get any detail out of it.

what do i need to do to get a decent image :smiley: . Are there any light pollution filters for camera lenses?

Also, I have the chance of getting a nikon D50 on the cheap, would it be better than my Olympus E500?

Any advice appreciated, even if its not to give up the day job :?

deep%20sky0001.jpg

I'm no expert, but whatever happens don't give up. Keep trying. MartinB has written a really good tutorial, it's in imaging topics I think. Worth trying that. Don't push anything hard, make multiple small steps instead of one large one. That's where I've been going wrong. It looks like you have a bit of tracking error or something that's causing little glitches. I'm sure someone with more experience than I will be along shortly to give some more useful suggestions.

Hi Greenkat.

Don't despair...

What was the ISO speed that the images were taken at? 40s isn't that long an exposure but at a high ISO speed will start to show up more detail in the "deep sky".

The ISO speed and Exposure steeings wil (without filtering) be limited by you LP levels its soemthing that you will have to experiment with.

The D50 would give you more control over your imaging.

Billy....

Hi and thanks for replying

The iso was at 800 if i remember rightly, and yep, I do have quite a bit of light pollution :bino2:

How would the D50 give me more control ?

I control my E500 on my laptop when photographing the sky, although admittedly have been saving files as jpeg just for ease of use, though the E500 will shoot in raw.

Would a neodydium filter help ?