Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starsense holiday dilemma

im going away in a few weeks to somewhere very dark so should be the best seeing ive ever had as long as the weather is good, but ive just bought a new scope that ive only managed to use twice so far, i always planned to buy starsense as an add on but im worried ive not got enough time now so get it setup and all working and aligned properly

im not sure going away with a new add on is the best idea, but the last time i went their were so many stars visible i actually think it might be hard to align normally (im still a newb to this hobby really), the weather doesnt seem to be the best lately

what do you all think ?

im wondering whether to buy it and take it, but dont fit it unless i think i need it ?

I would buy sooner rather than later, the longer you leave it then less time before holiday to get out and set it up. Either do it now or forget about it.

Once you receive it. you can do a dummy setup in the daytime to make sure the handset and camera attachments are working and attached as you want them (there are 2 mounting brackets to choose from in the box, have a play and decide which you will use.

- once you fire it up then the scope will go through the motions but the camera will just report "no stars found " but at least you know it works and fires up.

There are also a couple of things to check on the handset that you can do in the daytime.

1 the default slew limits are crap and do not include the zenith. You can change that.

2 location and time will need to setup on the handset. You can do that.

3 have a look through the other settings and download the latest PDF manual to familiarise yourself