Hello to everyone! Im new to astronomy forums.

Leonid

First of all I want to say hello to SGL community! 

I am an amateur astronomer/astrophotographer from Estonia. My brother made me a present some 5 years ago - Bresser Quasar 80/900 refractor, and I got carried away...

For now, I have made some upgrades to my equipment and bought some utilities, and even made some pictures. I would like to share with you my best so far. Nothing special, but an achievement for me. This is a single shot 2.5 minute exposure of the Cassiopea+Andromeda region of the night sky. The sky was dark and clear, light pollution was clearly visible (only 10km from the city), some moisture was present (camera lense got misty after ~1.5 minute exposure), however I am quite happy with the result. 

Equipment: Canon EOS1100D 18-55mm (set to 18mm, 400ISO, 2.5 exposure, largest aperture, neutral WB, RAW), Bresser RA Motor, Bresser Quasar mount, Viltrox JY-710 remote shutter controller, and a hand-made polar alignment device. Another picture attached with my mount (sorry for the background). I cut from a piece of wood a hand-made holder for Bresser Quasar finder scope and attached it to the polar axis of the mount to make a more-or-less "accurate" polar alignment. (Viltrox shutter control is not on the picture).

On the picture of the sky the M31, M32, M33, M34, M110, Double Cluster, Heart and Soul neblae regions are clearly visible, which made me go "WOW" the moment I opened the RAW file in Lightroom. However, as can be seen, stars do drift a little bit due to either a) inaccurate polar alignment, or b ) inaccurate RA motor speed.

My plans for future updates are: 1) Install another finder scope near the camera itself to better point the camera and thus use more zoom (for now I just roughly point it towards the desired area in the sky). 2) Make an illuminated reticle for both finder scopes for better polar alignment (maybe fluorescent).