Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astro photography equipment requirements for the new boy?

Hi Guys, I have slowly been trawling through the forum to try to find advise on a few things I may need in order to get some good pictures of the stars and deep sky objects so I can prove to my wife and friends I am not using the scope to look at Mrs Perkins down at number 42 even though she has some objects worth photographing !

I am new to astronomy and telescopes so would like any advice on recommendations for the following items please....

1. Some sort of 'dew control system' ? I have read a little about the benefits of a temperature sensing kit (kendrick D10) or the Dew buster. I used my scope a couple of nights ago (in my back garden as always) but was attacked by the dew monster and had to come in after only a few hours. Is there anyone out there who can guide me on this one?

2. A 'wedge' of some kind? Again I have read a little about them but if I dont get one I guess I wouldnt be able to take long exposure pictures? I have bought a dsi pro with filter slide thingy but fear my lack of knowledge at the moment means I am not even getting star pics. (sigh) :D

3. What Filters? With the telescope I got a few meade colour filters but have been reading about a filter called Hydrogen Alpha filter that enables you to get good nebulae pics.

The term 'all the gear and no idea' springs to mind or 'running before I can walk' but I have been bitten by the bug and am determined to learn learn learn although I could do with some advise please.

My gear:

Meade LX90 10” (2007) Dsi Pro Meade 4000 ep kit

Meade 6.7mm UWA

Televue Ethos 13mm

Televue Ethos 8mm

5 X Telextender

WO Dieletric diagonal

12mm Iluminated Reticule

Dew shield

The DSI is a good camera. I personally use a modded Toucam which I think is just as good, except you get the benefit of the Meade software and the ability to automatically take flats and darks as I understand.