Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SkyWatcher Explorer 130PDS struggling to focus + Ra&Dec control questions

Hello all, complete beginner here.

Recently bought my first telescope and mount but am struggling a bit with it. The scope is a SkyWatcher Explorer 130PDS and was second hand but like-new still in box etc. Anyway, the scope came with a 28mm lens and what I think is a barrows lens (hollow tube to fit between telescope and eyepiece, similar in appearance to a macro extension tube for a DSLR). Without the barrows lens I cannot focus on anything as far as I can tell. The further "out" (more extended from telescope body) I bring the eyepiece the closer things get to focused (for example the moon) but they do not reach focus before I run out of extension distance on the focuser. I can bring the moon to focus with the barrow's lens on the telescope, which makes sense to me as (as far as I understand it) as well as increasing magnification, the barrow's lens should allow you to focus on closer objects. This has me concerned however as, obviously, you shouldn't be struggling to get the plane of focus close enough to focus on the moon... So what could be wrong with the scope or am I just missing something?