Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Silly Question Time

:oops: Hope you will help

Sorry if they sound daft questions, I am a beginner after all :hello2: I have read the manual but seem to be missing it each time

1 - I have the Skywatcher Explorer 130pm (only got it 2 week ago) The dust cover has a smaller viewing cap on it, why? I know I can hear you laughing why hasn't the idiot tried it, I did still couldn't fathom out why

2 - Up to what magnification eyepiece could I use with or without the Barlow Lense that comes with it?

3 - Which is the best Astro magazine for amatuers? BBC Sky at Night seems a bit to heavy at the moment

Thanks

Pete

Peter,

Hello and welcome to "Stargazers Lounge" forum! You will receive plenty of help, advice and encouragement here!!

I had a Skywatcher 130p Newtonian. Absolutely great telescope to start off with (and no reason not to keep for good! (I wish I had kept mine!!)).

The small removable round cap can have a number of uses.

1. You can remove it, swivel the main cover around until the small hole sits between the thin arms of the secondary mirror support, and then use the scope to view bright objects such as the Moon, Jupiter, Venus and perhaps a few of the brighter stars - BUT NOT THE SUN!.

2. You could make another cap to fit the hole, cover the front of the new cap with a small piece of "Baader" filter foil, fit the cap over the hole and then use your scope to view the Sun. IF YOUR SCOPE IS FITTED WITH AN "OPTICAL" FINDER SCOPE, REMOVE IT BEFORE LOOKING AT THE SUN - JUST IN CASE SOMEONE INADVERTANTLY GLANCES AT THE SUN THROUGH THE FINDERSCOPE. THERE IS A SERIOUS RISK OF PERMANENTLY DAMAGING ONES EYE.

3. if there is another "blank" fitted directly opposite the removable one, you can cut this blank out, and use the two holes as a "Hartman Mask" (you will have to look it up on the internet for details) and use your scope to more accurately focus on a planet, or brighter star.