NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Please process this for me

I've been doing this for a few years and i still can't get the hang of processing :confused:

I managed to capture almost 6 hours on m45 but after processing it, it just looks unpleasing and has left a really sour taste in my mouth.

Would anyone take a crack at it to either prove im terrible at processing or my gear is rubbish.

The first image is 3 hours of data in photoshop

less.jpg

This next one is a printscreen off startools (6 hours) as i'm undecided if i want to buy it

startoolsstarjob1.jpg

All taken with heq5, canon 550d and a 200mm takumar lens. Subs 5-10mins.

i'm so close to getting rid of my gear as i just cant produce any decent images in the really limited clear sky i have and its not worth the stress at the minute.

I'll attach the tiff files incase anyone wants a go at it.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dyelvedqfzc7lqt/AACNO4cxDk9d039Bh9bRC1ELa?dl=0

Cheers!!!

1 hour ago, almcl said:

Any chance you could post the unprocessed data?  Both the images in your dropbox have been stretched and so aren't really suited to further work.  The original  FITS file would be great.

Hey, thanks for the reply!

Those files are straight from deep sky stacker although i did set black point to zero, maybe that has done something?

1 minute ago, Knight of Clear Skies said:

I can relate, I'm also struggling with my equipment and processing at the moment. With 5-10 minute subs I'm wondering if dynamic range could be a problem. Did you stop the lens down at all and what ISO did you use please?

i used iso 800 and the lens was stopped down to 5.6 after about half the subs had been taken :BangHead:

I'm thinking maybe for something this bright i probably didnt need to go too the 10 min mark and it was a bit overkill?