NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Strange difference in price

Hi everyone.

First of all, this is my first post on Stargazers Lounge, yeey!

Second, I have been looking into buying a starter but decent telescope. My attention was drawn by the Bresser NT-203/1000 at the price of € 819 with mount (EXOS 2 included).

Now I have been reading this forum longer than today and I've seen a link here that Bresser is doing a sale on its telescopes and my eye fell on this one :

NT-203/1200

The strange thing is that this has a better focal lenght and has the same mount but costs only half of what I had in mind:

NT-203/1000 (I am sorry but I cant put it in English but pretty sure you can compare the specifics).

Am I missing something here or is the 1000 overpriced on that website because I compared it (to my capabilities, I am a beginner so..)

I would appreciate it so much if someone could explain why that price difference is there.

Thanks in advance!

Pieter

Not that strange really, it is more difficult to make faster scopes.

The 203/1000 also has a 2" focuser rather than 1.25" and a better finder scope.

It would also appear to be designed for imaging.

I would say that the difference is similar to a SW200P vs a SW200PDS.

Thanks for the fast responses!

If I take them apart on the website of bresser and only look at the 1000-one and the EXOS 2 it would cost € 746 so that differences you mentioned are probably worth the increase in price.

Since my intentions are also to go for astrophotography, I will probably get the NT-203/1000.

A 200mm f/5 is preferable to a 200mm f/6, being more observationally versatile; and especially when mounted on a tripod.  The f/5 optical-tube is about 200mm shorter, and would ride upon the EXOS2 with a reduced moment-arm effect.